Culture Shock By Facebook

I never thought someone could be culture shocked via Facebook. Seems that’s not so. The other day I posted a sighting (this isn’t that common but VERY Japanese) of a young Japanese woman doing a little shopping at the local corner Family Mart at 2030 local in a tee shirt, gym shorts, high heels and possibly makeup.

That’s right: high heels and makeup to walk down to the corner store for a snack.

When I say “not very common” I’ve almost never seen a young Japanese woman walking outside of her house in gym shorts and a tee shirt. The high heels as the default footwear thing is actually very common.

Regardless, an acquaintance expressed shock at the idea of such a getup being par for the course amongst Japanese 20-somethings in a comment on my wall post. Culture shock that is.

About this entry